Blog of the International Journal of Constitutional Law

Fourth Annual YCC Global Conference and 2015 YCC Prizes

Richard Albert, Boston College Law School

As Chair of the Younger Comparativists Committee (“YCC”) in the American Society of Comparative Law (“ASCL”), I am pleased to announce that younger scholars from around the world will gather later this week at Florida State University College of Law in Tallahassee for the Fourth Annual YCC Global Conference.

The conference will be structured around concurrent panels on all subjects of comparative public and private law. It will feature a plenary luncheon panel on “Perspectives on Latin American Constitutional Law.”

The full program is available here.

Our host and Program Chair is David Landau. David is a leading scholar in the field of comparative public law, an award-winning teacher, a co-founder of this blog, and a dear friend.

Since August, David has led a tireless and enthusiastic Program Committee to plan this conference. David was supported on the Committee by Ozan Varol (Lewis & Clark), Mohamed Abdelaal (Berkeley), Dawood Ahmed (Max Planck), Sujata Gadkar-Wilcox (Quinnipiac), Daniel Ghezelbash (Macquarie), Claudia Haupt (Columbia), Stefanus Hendrianto (Santa Clara), Neha Jain (Minnesota), Joshua Karton (Queen’s), Alan Koh (BU/NUS), Rana Lehr-Lehnardt (UMKC), Eugene Mazo (Wake Forest), Sally Richardson (Tulane), Ioanna Tourkochoriti (NUI Galway), Vanice Valle (Estacio de Sa) and me.

The annual YCC Global Conference has become the premiere scholarly gathering in the world for younger scholars of comparative law. This edition of the conference will welcome around 100 scholars from far and near: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, England, Egypt, France, Japan, India, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, Uganda, and the United States.

The Fourth Annual YCC Global Conference builds on our previous conferences. Our first global conference was hosted by Claudia Haupt in April 2012 at George Washington University. Our second was co-hosted by Shawn Boyne and Mohamed Arafa in April 2013 at Indiana University in Indianapolis. Our third was hosted by Ozan Varol in April 2014 at Lewis & Clark University.

We invite all younger scholars of comparative law to make plans to join us in 2016 for an important milestone: the Fifth Annual YCC Global Conference, to be hosted by Sally Richardson at Tulane University in New Orleans. More details to come soon.

Conference Prizes

As is now our custom, we award scholarly prizes at the YCC Global Conference. I am pleased to announce this year’s prize winners.

The Inaugural Richard M. Buxbaum Prize for Teaching in Comparative Law
Awarded to an untenured scholar in a tenure-track position at an ASCL Member School in recognition of teaching excellence in any subject of comparative law. Named in honor of the 2014 recipient of the ASCL Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Recipient: Kirsten Anker, McGill University, Faculty of Law

The Colin B. Picker Graduate Prize
Awarded in recognition of the best paper submitted by a graduate student to the annual YCC Global Conference. Named in honor of the founding chair of the YCC.

  • Recipient: Katharine Schmidt, Yale Law School
  • Honorable Mentions: Shoaib Ghias, University of California, Berkeley School of Law; Benjamin Chen & Zhiyu Li, University of California, Berkeley School of Law

The Phanor J. Eder Prize in Comparative Law
Awarded in recognition of the best paper written by an undergraduate law student, J.D. or LL.B., in response to an open Call for Papers. Named in honor of the founding president of ASCL.

  • Recipient: Tom Brower, University of Virginia School of Law
  • Honorable Mentions: Philip M. Thoennes, Lewis & Clark Law School; Julian Yang, Queen’s University Faculty of Law

In honoring each of these prize winners, the YCC honors by association all younger scholars who are working to deepen the study of comparative law, to strengthen cross-national and interdisciplinary connections, and to enrich our field of scholarly interest.

We also express our gratitude to all who helped in the administration of these prizes: Afra Afsharipour (UC Davis), Mohamed Arafa (IU-McKinney), Antonia Baraggia (Milan), Shawn Boyne (IU-McKinney), Christopher Bruner (W&L), Cristina Fasone (EUI), Virginia Harper Ho (Kansas), Neha Jain (Minnesota), Joshua Karton (Queen’s), Thomas Perroud (Paris 12), Aparna Polavarapu (SC), Sally Richardson (Tulane), Ioanna Tourkochoriti (NUI Galway), Ozan Varol (Lewis & Clark) and Patrick Yingling (Pittsburgh).

Let me also recognize my colleagues on the YCC Board: Afra Afsharipour (UC Davis), Virginia Harper Ho (Kansas), Sally Richardson (Tulane) and Ozan Varol (Lewis & Clark).

2015 YCC Prizes (2)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *