Blog of the International Journal of Constitutional Law

Call for Papers: 4th Annual YCC Conference




The Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law is pleased to invite submissions for its fourth annual conference, to be held on April 16-17, 2015, at Florida State University College of Law in Tallahassee, Florida.  The purpose of the conference is to highlight, develop, and promote the scholarship of new and younger comparativists.

Conference Subject-Matter and Eligibility

Submissions will be accepted on any subject in public or private comparative law from scholars who have been engaged as law teachers, lecturers, fellows, or in another academic capacity for no more than ten years as of June 30, 2015.  We will also accept submissions from graduate students enrolled in masters or doctoral programs.

Submission Instructions

To submit an entry, scholars should email an attachment in Microsoft Word or PDF containing an abstract of no more than 750 words no later than November 1, 2014, to the following address:  Abstracts should reflect original research that will not yet have been published, though may have been accepted for publication, by the time of the conference. Abstracts should also include the author’s name, title of the paper, institutional affiliation, contact information, as well as the author’s certification that she/he qualifies as a younger scholar. Graduate students should identify themselves as such.

Scholars may make only one submission.  Both individual and co-authored submissions will be accepted.  For co-authored submissions, both authors must qualify as eligible younger comparativists.  The conference’s Program Committee will assign individual and co-authored submissions to thematic panels according to subject area.  Proposals for fully formed panels will also be accepted.


Authors of the submissions selected for the conference will be notified no later than December 20, 2014.   There is no cost to register for the conference but participants are responsible for securing their own funding for travel, lodging and other incidental expenses.  A limited number of travel stipends may be awarded to those who demonstrate financial need.  If you would like to be considered for a travel stipend, please make that request in your submission.

All scholars selected for the conference, other than graduate students who wish to be considered for the Colin B. Picker graduate student prize listed below (and who thus have an earlier deadline), must submit final papers by email to no later than March 1, 2015.

Colin B. Picker Graduate Student Prize

The second annual Colin B. Picker prize will be awarded for the best paper submitted by a graduate student.  To be considered for the award, in addition to submitting an abstract by the above deadline, graduate students whose abstracts are accepted for the conference must also submit their papers in their final form by January 31, 2015, to with the following subject line:  “Submission for Graduate Student Prize.”  Papers received after January 31, 2015, will not be considered for the award.

Phanor J. Eder J.D. Prize in Comparative Law

In conjunction with the Conference, the second annual Phanor J. Eder prize in comparative law will be awarded from among J.D. or LL.B. students who will have not yet completed their degree as of April 1, 2015. The author(s) of the winning paper will receive a modest stipend giving them partial funding to help defray the costs of attending the Conference and presenting the paper there. A separate call will be forthcoming with the details of the Phanor J. Eder competition. Final papers will be due on December 31, 2014, in order to be considered for the competition. Inquiries should be directed to Joshua Karton, Chair of the Affiliates Advisory Group of the YCC, at

Acknowledgements and Questions

The Younger Comparativists Committee gratefully acknowledges the support of the Florida State University College of Law.  Please direct all inquiries to Professor David Landau, Chair of the Program Committee, by email at or telephone at 850.644.6341.

The Program Committee

David Landau (Florida State) (Chair)

Ozan Varol (Lewis & Clark) (Vice Chair)

Mohamed Abdelaal (Berkeley)

Dawood Ahmed (Max Planck Foundation)

Richard Albert (Boston College) (YCC Chair)

Sujata Gadkar-Wilcox (Quinnipiac)

Daniel Ghezelbash (Macquarie)

Claudia Haupt (Columbia)

Stefanus Hendrianto (Santa Clara)

John Hursh (McGill)

Neha Jain (Minnesota)

Rajeev Kadambi (Brown)

Joshua Karton (Queen’s)

Alan Koh (National University of Singapore)

Rana Lehr-Lehnardt (UMKC)

Eugene Mazo (Wake Forest)

Sally Richardson (Tulane)

Ioanna Tourkochoriti (South Carolina)

Vanice Valle (Estacio de Sa)


The Younger Comparativists Committee

Richard Albert (Boston College) (Chair)

Wulf Kaal (University of St. Thomas)

Sudha Setty (Western New England)

Virginia Harper Ho (Kansas)

Ozan Varol (Lewis & Clark)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *