Blog of the International Journal of Constitutional Law

Announcement: ICON-S Committee on Junior Scholars

Richard Albert, William Stamps Farish Professor of Law, The University of Texas at Austin

The Co-Presidents of the International Society of Public Law (ICON-S) have authorized the creation of a Committee on Junior Scholars. The charge of the Committee is to produce a report on what more ICON-S can do as an institution to support junior scholars.

As Chair of this Committee, I will work with a wonderful group of ICON-S members to deliver recommendations to the Co-Presidents. The full Committee appears below.

  • Richard Albert (Chair) (Texas)
  • Michaela Hailbronner (Muenster)
  • Aileen Kavanagh (Oxford)
  • Jaclyn Neo (NUS)
  • Mariana Velasco Rivera (Yale)
  • Juliano Zaiden Benvindo (Brasilia)

At this early stage, we ask you to please send us your suggestions on how ICON-S can support junior scholars. Please contact any one of us with your suggestions.

You may also wish to share your thoughts on how we should define junior scholars. We are beginning our work with this working definition of a junior scholar: a person holding a tenure-track faculty position for no longer than 5 years, including current students as well has post-doctoral fellows and faculty members.

We thank you in advance for your ideas about what more ICON-S can do to support junior scholars.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *